Review of Star Trek: The Game

Spoilers for the Star Trek game below. I don’t focus as much on the story, but there are some discussions. Avoid if you so mind.

A while back I posted about how excited I was to play the new Star Trek game. It was released a few weeks ago and my husband and I started playing it straight away!

Overall, a fun romp, shall we say? We have been looking for more co-op action games that aren’t strictly FPS, and throwing Star Trek in the mix makes it all the more enjoyable! However, this does make me slightly biased in the review.

Likes

  • The story. The Gorn make excellent villains, and nothing like this: gorn  They are sturdy, fast and powerful, and creepy at times. Fighting them in various environs is gripping and fun… leading me to:
  • The environments. Fighting on planets, base stations, star ships, etc. They are rarely repetitive and keep the game exciting
  • The co-operative gameplay, but this goes in both categories, so I’ll get to that later
  • The graphics. These were sharp and decent, with appropriate likeliness for each characters. I would give the graphics about 3.5/5, but I was pleased with it
  • The sound. Crisp, good soundtrack, adding but not detracting from the action. I never much pay attention to it, but I do notice it if it’s bad, which this wasn’t.
  • The difficulty settings. Many options and each were appropriate. I like the ‘Easy’ setting, because I’m not as seasoned of an action player and I want to enjoy the story without getting frustrated
  • The special achievements. As a Star Trek fan, these were great, like stunning and not killing possessed Vulcans, or finding an alternative route. It added a little extra difficulty and optional challenge to the game which was good fun

Dislikes

  • The co-op gameplay – will get to below
  • The constant action. Okay okay, I’m playing an action game, so fair dos, but the Enterprise and the other space stations were so cool I wanted to have a bit of time walking around and doing menial things, just to calm down and enjoy the game, but I’m an RPGer. There was some good stealth stuff on the Gorn planet which I did enjoy (I like my sniper rifles 🙂 )
  • The space battles, but a lot of this was due to the co-op.

The Co-operative Gameplay

Right, so one of the reasons we bought this game (and as I have mentioned many times) is that my husband and I are both gamers, but with a venn diagram of interests, with RPG and some action being in the middle. We are both massive Star Trek fans as well, so this was a perfect game for us. Here are some thoughts on the co-op:

  • The so-called ‘drop-in/drop-out’ co-op format. LIES!! During the space battle, we thought we would try doing one player (will mention below) so I ‘dropped out’ of the game. In short, it frakked everything up. For me to join again, we both had to leave the game, re-sign in to XBOX Live, and I had to join again. Basically, you have to start from the recent autosave, so if you try this, make sure you advance to the next chapter before quitting the game and restarting with two people or the point is lost. Also if you drop out of the game and join again, you lose all XP and upgrades and start from zero. That was a bit frustrating because we had been balancing our upgrades as we went and I had to start over
  • The Spock/Kirk difference. Really, there wasn’t much of a difference that we noticed, but you can upgrade your tricorder, etc in the manner of what you think your character would and provide a balance. However, there was one swimming portion which was incredibly frustrating as Spock has significantly better visuals then Kirk, who can barely see underwater and who died a few times.
  • The split-screen. We played this on the XBOX on a 32″ flat screen. The screen is split above and below, and generally there weren’t any issues, but the space-battle was nearly impossible as neither of us could see incoming missiles in time to defend. Again, this may have been down to a skill and would just take practise, but it was just a bit frustrating.
  • The actual co-operative moments. There are a few times in the game where you really do need to work co-operatively and these were incredibly enjoyable. Two off the top of my head were on the Gorn planet, one of us had to sneak around to extend the other side of the bridge and the other had to stand at the first side of the bridge and use the sniper rifle to aid your partner. The second was quick, but one person got injured and the other had to carry them to the medical table and fix their leg while the other had to fight off the incoming Gorn.
  • Another co-op moment which was more on the frustrating side was some of the hacking, but we eventually figured it out and it was okay to do

Summary

Played two-player on the XBOX 360 on a 32″ flatscreen TV

Rating: 8/10 – though consideration should be given that I am a total Star Trek fan so I was always going to give it at least 5/10

The co-op isn’t what they advertised, but it is rich and fun. I am not sure what it would be like to play one-player, but I think you would be missing out.

What did you all think?

kirk-and-spock

Don’t get me wrong, love the new guys, but these two just fill me with happiness and nostalgia

This entry was posted in Fangirliness, Games, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

