5 Things Challenge

I always tell myself to blog more, but can never find time, which I guess is the difference between a good blogger and a bad blogger, but whatever. Anyway, I stumbled on my friend’s blog From the Crow’s Beak where she had this 5 Things Challenge which was fun to read and a great way to catch up since we have not spoken in so long. Anyway, without further ado, here’s mine:

5 Things I Need Every Day

  1. Noise. Usually in the form of music or background television. I do not function well or concentrate in silence. Gods bless Netflix autoplay and portable music devices and headphones. Genius.
  2. My husband. He always makes me laugh; not just puts up, but loves me for my emotions; makes me wonderful food and supports me as an extension of himself.
    Troy-Community-EmotionsHe’s also pretty much the love-child of Philip J Fry and Ron Swanson. Think about that for a second.
  3. Food. I love food. All food.
  4. A laugh. Again, my emotions are strong ones, and a good laugh can cure most ills.
  5. A good pub. I don’t need to sit in one every day, I just need to know it is there waiting for me.

5 Books I Recommend

  1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Thoughtful and timeless. Gothic elements and a Byronic hero. Need we ask for anything more?
  2. Bossypants by Tina Fey. I was lizzing myself in the pub reading this. Also great advice on being a woman in a male-dominated profession. Very real, very relate-able and very very funny. lizzing
  3. World War Z by Max Brooks. Do NOT see the film. This book is unbelievably smart and thoughtful, especially if you have read real historical accounts of war.
  4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. It had been years since I was unable to put down a book and had to make time in my day to read it. Regardless of the rest of the trilogy, this first book is genius. It also gave me very weird dreams.
  5. The Iron King by Maurice Druon. Historical fiction and obvious (and confirmed) inspiration for Game of Thrones. Puts George RR Martin to shame. Must read.

5 Materialistic Wishes for Christmas

  1. No more student loans. Please? Someone clear them? Please?
  2. A voucher for unlimited tattoos. I’m long overdue for my next one and have the itch. Please?
  3. A full 88-key weighted digital keyboard. I miss playing the piano.
  4. A pint with Simon Pegg
  5. A vacation home with free travel in Glasgow. I miss it there so much. Glasgow, the Highlands and the Scottish people are so much in my soul and who I am.

    clanadonia

    Clanadonia on Buchanan Street

…this makes it seem that Christmas will be really disappointing, but really I’m happy with a new video game!

5 Places I Want to Visit – I’m interpreting this as ‘never been’ and not ‘places I miss’

  1. Islay. I’m sad I never did a whisky round of Islay when I was so near.
  2. Tibet. Always has held a fascination for me and I would love to see it.
  3. New Zealand. I have a feeling I would love the people and culture.
  4. China. To see any remnants of ancient China.
  5. Japan. I would love to do a foodie exploration of Japan.ramen

5 Adjectives That Describe Me

  1. Happy
  2. Adventurous
  3. People-oriented
  4. Obsessive
  5. Quixotic

5 Things I Have To Say To People About Life

  1. The best thing I ever heard about marriage (or long-term romantic partnerships in general) which really stuck with me is that a partnership as such requires a balance three things: lust, laughter and loyalty. And in that order. A partnership can survive on loyalty alone, but eventually will require more, and you cannot get back to lust without laughter first. So many people attempt to ‘bring the romance back’ when things are tough, but really, just watch or do something you both find funny.

    Our favourite thing to watch when life gets too hard.

    Our favourite thing to watch when life gets too hard.

  2. Don’t be afraid. I am not saying there aren’t things that frighten me, but too much of life is spent fretting over how something will turn out. Ask yourself, “What’s the worst that can happen?” Moving to Scotland, totally alone, was completely terrifying, but I made the leap, and it wasn’t easy, but I stuck through.
  3. Travelling the world is the best way to learn about yourself and where you fit in. It can be intimidating to enter a new culture, but if you really push for it, it will be completely worth it.
  4. Love yourself. I am working so hard to eliminate all destructive and negative thoughts about who I am and how I look. Just being conscious of your thoughts and how you talk about yourself can really make a difference.
  5. Laugh and dance more. Can’t hurt.

swansondance

Tag! You’re it…

Hmm, will have to think about this. I usually just follow foodie blogs. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Things Challenge

  1. Rebecca says:

    You want to visit China and Japan but won’t even swing by Korea for a beer? 😦 Just kidding, the beer’s no good here anyway. Great lists!

Leave a Reply

