Rose Tattoo – Dropkick Murphys

I’ve always loved the Dropkick Murphys, but they fell off my radar the last year or so because I didn’t have time to catch up with my bands. Thankfully, as all music lovers (of many genres) will know, love for bands comes in ebbs and tides, but never really leaves you. Well DKM, I’m back, baby and now I really want a DKM tattoo.

Fun fact: The song we played at our wedding ceremony was Peg O’ My Heart by Dropkicks with some The Boss featured. Suited us to a T.

I ran across this song last night (totally missed the new album, fail) when looking for new music, and lo’, a whole new album at my disposal! Additionally, the song Rose Tattoo spoke to me, man, like, fucking SPOKE to me.

As some/all/none may know, I have been a tattoo fiend since I was 10 years old. Always wanted them, always drew on myself, and to the chagrin of my parents, got tattoos as soon as I was legally able. My tattoos represent my life, my story, my past, my personality, my heartbreak and my success. I was thinking about doing a series on my tattoos on this blog, and now I definitely need to.

I present, Rose Tattoo annotated with a couple of my tattoos here and there to show relevance. Can’t describe it all though.

The pictures tell the story
This life has many shades
I’d wake up every morning and before I’d start each day
I’d take a drag from last nights cigarette
That smoldered in it’s tray
Down a little something and then be on my way
I traveled far and wide
And laid this head in many ports
I was guided by a compass
I saw beauty to the north
I drew the tales of many lives
And wore the faces of my own
I had these memories all around me
So I wouldn’t be alone

Some may be from showing up
Others are from growing up
Sometimes I was so messed up and didn’t have a clue
I ain’t winning no one over
I wear it just for you
I’ve got your name written here
In a rose tattoo

This ones for the mighty sea

Mischief, gold and piracy

floggingmolly
This ones for the man that raised me
Taught me sacrifice and braverypatronusThis ones for our favorite game
Black and gold, we wave the flag
This ones for my family name
With pride I wear it to the gravefamily_crest

Some may be from showing up
Others are from growing up
Sometimes I was so messed up and didn’t have a clue
I ain’t winning no one over
I wear it just for you
I’ve got your name written here
In a rose tattoo

 

This one means the most to me

Stays here for eternity

A ship that always stays the course
An anchor for my every choice
A rose that shines down from above
I signed and sealed these words in blood
I heard them once, sung in a song
It played again and we sang along

You’ll always be there with me
Even if you’re gonephoenixYou’ll always have my love
Our memory will live on

Some may be from showing up
Others are from growing up
Sometimes I was so messed up and didn’t have a clue
I ain’t winning no one over
I wear it just for you
I’ve got your name written here

In a rose tattoo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

